Simple Baba Ganoush by Judy Witts Francini

I adore eggplants in anyway I can get them, but right now I am craving strange flavors and went for an easy Baba Ganoush recipe.
As is in my style, I made it easy.
I don’t salt or do anything to my eggplant, I didn’t slow roast it and then let it sit in a bag.
I simply cut it, skin and all, into small cubes and sauteed in olive oil with garlic and salt.
When soft, I let it cool and pureed with tahini, lemon, olive oil and some water.

My husband who hates eggplant adored it, so much I made it two times in one week.

Simple Baba Ganoush

1 eggplant, cut into small cubes
2 cloves of garlic, sliced
Extra virgin olive oil
salt (to taste)
2 tbs Tahini sauce
juice of a lemon ( to taste)
water to thin

Saute the eggplant cubes and garlic in olive oil, I like to use a lot as eggplant soaks up quite a bit.
Add salt,this will bring some of the water out of the eggplant and also add flavor.
Stir to cook evenly.

Let cool.

Puree with the tahini, lemon juice, more olive oil.
Add a little water to create a smooth sauce.

For a little kick I also add chili into the mix but you can also serve on the side or sprinkle on top.
I think it tastes better then next day when the flavors have blended.

Leave a Reply

